Foresight Institute Logo
Image of nano
Home > Press Center

September 15, 2004: Foresight Institute Announces Feynman Prize Finalists

Nanotechnology Think Tank Increases Prize Purse

Palo Alto, CA September 15 2004 Foresight Institute, a nanotechnology education and public policy think tank, announced the finalists for the 2004 Foresight Feynman Prize. Established in 1993 in honor of Nobel Prize winner Richard Feynman, the Foresight Institute Feynman Prize is awarded in two prize categories, theory and experimental. These prizes recognize researchers whose recent work has most advanced the field toward the achievement of Feynman's vision for nanotechnology: molecular manufacturing, defined as the construction of atomically-precise products through the use of molecular machine systems.

The winners of this year's prizes will be honored at a gala banquet at the 1st Conference on Advanced Nanotechnology: Research, Applications, and Policy, October 22-24, 2004 at the Crystal City Marriott Hotel, Washington DC area. Please see for more information. This year's recipients will also receive a prize purse of $10,000 each, which is twice the amount of previous prize purses.

"Foresight Institute is increasing the size of the Feynman prizes as part of a new ongoing initiative to enhance the prizes so that they will play an even greater role in motivating research in the area of molecular machine systems," said Scott Mize, newly appointed President of Foresight Institute.

The 2004 finalists for the Experimental prize are: Angela Belcher from MIT Department of Materials; Homme Hellinga, Duke University Medical Center; William Shih, Dana Farber Research Laboratory, and the team of David Baker and Gautum Dantas from the University of Washington and Brian Kuhlman, University of North Carolina.

The 2004 finalists for the Theory prize: Homme Hellinga, Duke University Medical Center; Robert Freitas, Institute for Molecular Manufacturing; Christan Joachim, CNRS Nanoscience Group; and the team of David Baker, University of Washington and Brian Kuhlman, University of North Carolina.

"Foresight Institute's goal is to steer the development of molecular nanotechnology. The Foresight Institute Feynman Prize is awarded to those making significant advances towards that end," said Christine Peterson, Vice President and founder of Foresight Institute. "Molecular nanotechnology will be the ultimate manufacturing technology. It will enable us to tackle many environmental problems, combat diseases such as HIV/AIDS, and enable zero-waste manufacturing."

The deadline for 2005 nominations for the Foresight Institute Feynman Prize is June 15, 2005.

About Foresight Institute

Foresight Institute is the leading think tank and public interest organization focused on nanotechnology. Formed in 1986 by K. Eric Drexler and Christine Peterson, Foresight dedicates itself to providing education, policy development, and networking to maximize benefits and minimize downsides of molecular manufacturing.

For more information about Foresight Institute:

About the 1st Conference on Advanced Nanotechnology, Research, Applications, and Policy

The 1st Conference on Advanced Nanotechnology will examine three different perspectives of nanotechnology, research, applications, policy and funding. Friday, October 22st, is designed for researchers and technologists, Saturday and Sunday, October 23rd and 24th, will make this revolution accessible to public policy professionals, public interest representatives, professional association representatives, investors, the media, students, the general public, and those seeking a career in the field.

For complete program go to:

News & Events

Press Center

Foresight Programs


Home About Foresight Blog News & Events Roadmap About Nanotechnology Resources Facebook Contact Privacy Policy

Foresight materials on the Web are ©1986–2017 Foresight Institute. All rights reserved. Legal Notices.

Web site developed by Stephan Spencer and Netconcepts; maintained by James B. Lewis Enterprises.